Skip to main content

NCAA Gymnastics 2018 - Week 2 Preview & Schedule

Week 2 Schedule & Links
Tuesday, Jan. 9th
4 ET/3 CT/2 MT/2 PT Cortland @ Brockport Video
7:30 ET/6:30 CT/5:30 MT/4:30 PT UW-Stout @ Winona State Video
Thursday, Jan. 11th
9 ET/8 CT/7 MT/6 PT Southern Utah @ Boise State Video
Friday, Jan. 12th
7 ET/6 CT/5 MT/4 PT Kentucky @ Arkansas SECN+
7 ET/6 CT/5 MT/4 PT UW Stout @ UW Oshkosh Live Stream
7 ET/6 CT/5 MT/4 PT UW Whitewater @ UW Eau Claire
7 ET/6 CT/5 MT/4 PT LSU @ Florida SECN/Live Scores
7:30 ET/6:30 CT/5:30 MT/4:30 PT Gustavus Adolphus @ UW-La Crosse
7:30 ET/6:30 CT/5:30 MT/4:30 PT Illinois State @ Southeast Missouri Live Scores
8 ET/7 CT/6 MT/5 PT Missouri @ Auburn SECN+
8 ET/7 CT/6 MT/5 PT Lindenwood @ Texas Woman’s
8:30 ET/7:30 CT/6:30 MT/5:30 PT Georgia @ Alabama ESPN
9 ET/8 CT/7 MT/6 PT Cal @ BYU Live Stream/Live Scoring
10 ET/9 CT/8 MT/7 PT UC Davis @ Seattle Pacific
10 ET/9 CT/8 MT/7 PT Washington @ Sacramento State Live Scores
11 ET/10 CT/9 MT/8 PT Cortland @ Alaska Video
Saturday, Jan. 13th
12 ET/11 CT/10 MT/9 PT Ithaca, Springfield & West Chester @ Ursinus
1 ET/12 CT/11 MT/10 PT Ursinus, Ithaca, Springfield @ West Chester
1 ET/12 CT/11 MT/10 PT Illinois, Southern Connecticut & Yale @ Rutgers Live Scoring
2 ET/1 CT/12 MT/11 PT Utah State @ Bowling Green
4 ET/3 CT/2 MT/1 PT Nebraska @ Penn State BTN+
4 ET/3 CT/2 MT/1 PT Ohio State @ Michigan ESPNU/Live Scores
5 ET/4 CT/3 MT/2 PT Maryland & Northern Illinois @ Minnesota BTN+/Live Scores
6 ET/5 CT/4 MT/3 PT Central Michigan @ Eastern Michigan Live Stream/ Live Scores
6 ET/5 CT/4 MT/3 PT Oregon State @ Pittsburgh ACC Network/Live Scoring
7 ET/6 CT/5 MT/4 PT Bridgeport @ New Hampshire
7 ET/6 CT/5 MT/4 PT Iowa @ Michigan State BTN+
 
Sunday Jan, 14th
12 ET/11 CT/10 MT/9 PT Brockport, Brown @ Rhode Island
1 ET/12 CT/11 MT/10 PT Arizona State @ West Virginia Live Stream/ Live Scores
1 ET/12 CT/11 MT/10 PT Ball State, Cornell & Penn @ George Washington
1 ET/12 CT/11 MT/10 PT Centenary @ Kent State
2 ET/1 CT/12 MT/11 PT Temple & William & Mary @ Towson Live Stream
2 ET/1 CT/12 MT/11 PT UW-Whitewater @ Hamline
4 ET/3 CT/2 MT/1 PT Airforce @ Denver AltitudeTV/Live Scores
5 ET/4 CT/3 MT/2 PT UCLA, Stanford, Utah, Washington @ Elevate the Stage Flo Gym
6 ET/5 CT/4 MT/3 PT Cortland @ Alaska Video
Week 3
Monday, Jan. 15th
2 ET/1 CT/12 MT/11 PT Oklahoma @ Georgia SECN+/Live Scoring
5 ET/3 CT/2 MT/1 PT Lindenwood @ Southeast Missouri Live Scores

This week's featured meets by day:



Friday Featured Meets:

LSU @ Florida

Florida hosts LSU at their home opener this week. This should be a good match-up as they are both top ranked teams and are equally matched in terms of talent. Look for Alyssa Baumann on beam and prepare for heart flutters that go with this.  For LSU, Sami Durante made her college debut on bars as the lead off last week with a beautiful routine. Since last week was not a particularly good one for Florida, they're going to want to put their best foot forward and pretend last week never happened.

Alabama @ Georgia

Alabama takes on their SEC rival on their home turf. Georgia will make their debut under new head coach, Georgia legend Courtney Kupets-Carter. After a tough season last year, Georgia is looking to rebuild their program and make a strong debut. Alabama has their second road meet in a row. After last week's loss at Michigan, they're looking to redeem themselves.

Cal-Berkley @ BYU

BYU is at home this week after opening on the road against Utah. They're looking to improve on last week's performance and put up a strong score for their second week. Cal is coming into this meet in a good spot having won the Nor-Cal Classic on Monday.

Saturday Featured Meets:

Ohio State @ Michigan

Saturday's stacked with Big 10 meets, and all of them seem to be happening between 4 and 6 pm eastern time. One of the two early meets, Ohio State at Michigan. Michigan is coming off a good home opener against Alabama, putting them 5th in the rankings for the first week. They're going to be looking to improve on their scores from last week and continue their winning streak. Ohio State will be looking to improve their standings after their meet with UCLA last weekend when errors seemed to be contagious.

Central Michigan @ Eastern Michigan

Central Michigan is coming off a strong debut that put them in 3rd place in the first week's rankings. They're going to be looking to continue their good luck to keep them in the upper echelons of the rankings, especially if more well known teams make mistakes.

Oregon State @ Pittsburgh

Oregon State opens their season on the road at Pittsburgh. They lost a senior class of top athletes including Maddie Gardiner, Katyanna McMillan and Silvia Colussi-Pelaez.


Sunday Featured Meets:

Air-Force @ Denver

Denver's first home meet of the season! This week, they're meeting their in state rivals as the Air Force Academy Falcons are taking I-25 North to meet Denver on their home turf. Denver won last week against Arizona, showing strong scores on vault, beam and floor. Despite only having 5 vaulters in their line-up last week, they now have 2 10.0 vaults from Maddie Karr and Lynzee Brown.

Stanford, Utah, UCLA & Washington @ Elevate the Stage

Reno will host a PAC-12 quad meet at the Elevate the Stage event. Expect good things from all of these teams. Utah and UCLA are the likely favorites, but Washington is looking to recreate and build on the success of the last season.

Monday Featured Meet:

Oklahoma @ Georgia

Yay for three day weekends.  Oklahoma will start their season on the road at Georgia, who will be coming off their home meet on Friday against Alabama. The gymternet has asked fans at the meet to give Maggie Nichols a standing ovation upon her introduction into the Stegman Coliseum as a show of support and solidarity after she revealed on Monday that she was the first gymnast to come forward with allegations of sexual abuse by Larry Nassar. Oklahoma will be expected to dominate since they are the defending champions.  For Georgia, this will be their second week in a matter of a few days, so it'll be interesting to see how they do.

Popular posts from this blog

Maddie Desch Retires From Elite

Yesterday, US gymnast Maddie Desch announced her retirement from elite gymnastics via her Instagram account.

Maddie, who trains at Great American Gymnastics Express, aka "GAGE" explained she came to the decision to retire due to a nagging injury that prevented her from training at the elite level.

Maddie Gardiner's Glorious Beam Series

I love NCAA gymnastics.

A Unique Beam Mount from Olivia Cimpian

Olivia Cimpian of Romania showed off a unique beam mount series at Elite Massalia in France.

Romania is historically a team that is proficient on beam and Olivia, a junior is no exception.